117 Main St.
Plainfield, Vermont 05667

We perform chimney inspections that meet the standards of the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA).
According to the publication NFPA 211 chimney inspections are classified into 3 levels.

Chimney Inspection Levels


What Is Inspected

When/How Often

Other Reasons To Inspect

Required Access

Level 1

Basic condition of chimney and flue.
Absence of blockage in flue.
Accessible areas of appliance & connector.

During routine chimney sweeping.
Upon replacement of connected appliance with a similar unit.

When verification of serviceability for continued use under present conditions is needed.

Readily accessible areas of the chimney exterior, interior, chimney connector and appliance.

Level 2

Chimcam Video

Same as Level 1 and accessible portions of the chimney structure and all enclosed flues, including size and suitability of flues.
This shall be done by video documentation.

Adding, removing or replacing an appliance.
After an event that likely caused damage (e.g. chimney fire).
Property ownership transfer.

Verification of chimney serviceability for continued service under changing conditions or when a level1 inspection is inadequate.

All accessible areas, interior, exterior, including parts of the chimney passing through crawlspaces and attics. 

Level 3

Includes Level 2 inspection plus concealed areas of chimney structure and enclosed flues.
Proper clearances from combustibles.

As needed to examine damage to the chimney or building.
When a lower level inspection results in a detected or suspected hazard that can't be checked without access to concealed areas.

When knowledge of the condition of the chimney is critical to the renewed or continued use of the chimney.

Designated parts of the chimney structure and building, including concealed areas.
Removal of parts of the chimney or building to gain access to specific concealed areas.